skip to Main Content

Nancy Rust, Water Hero 2006

A member of Washington State’s House of Representatives from 1981-1996, Nancy began a life of political activism by joining the League of Women Voters in the mid-1950s. As a member of the League, Nancy worked on voter registration campaigns, numerous ballot initiatives, tax reform, and the Equal Rights Amendment. While her career in community service spans over five decades, she will perhaps be most remembered for her work on environmental issues. She chaired the House Environmental Affairs Committee from 1983-1994, during which time she oversaw legislation regarding hazardous waste management, shorelines management, growth management, and legislation to prevent oil spills on Puget Sound.

An outdoor enthusiast, Nancy enjoys getting out into nature by hiking, back-packing, skiing, biking, or as a member of the Washington Native Plant Society.

As a strategic advocate for Washington’s waters, we are excited to award her with this year’s Ralph W. Johnson Water Hero Award.

Water Heroes
1. Rachel Paschal Osborn, Water Hero 2001
2. Benella Caminiti, Water Hero 2004
3. Nancy Rust, Water Hero 2006
4. Mickey Gendler, Water Hero 2008
5. Russ Busch, Water Hero 2010
6. Harriet Bullitt, Water Hero 2011
7. NW Indian Fisheries Commission, Water Hero 2012
8. Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Water Hero 2013
9. Ann Aagaard, Water Hero 2014
10. Upper Columbia United Tribes, Water Heroes 2015
11. Professor William H. Rodgers Jr., Water Hero 2016
12. Dr. John Osborn, Water Hero 2017
13. Water Heroes 2018
14. Larry Wasserman, Water Hero 2019
15. Professor Emeritus Robert Anderson, Water Hero 2020
16. Sharon Haensly, Water Hero 2021
17. Kimberly Ordon aka KO, Water Hero 2021
Back To Top