skip to Main Content

Dr. John Osborn, Water Hero 2017

John was raised in Bellingham, WA, and Boise, ID. His mother Idaho’s first nurse practitioner—introduced him to medicine while his father and fishing partner introduced him to Puget Sound and the rivers of Idaho. Today, John is a physician at the Veterans Hospital in Spokane, Washington, where he has cared for military veterans since 1986. He also co-founded the Regional Ethics Network of Eastern Washington (RENEW) in 2013 which works to enhance patient care by strengthening clinical and organizational ethics capacity across regional partners.

Outside of his medical practice, John founded the Spokane-based Lands Council; served for 15 years on the boards of the Washington Wilderness Coalition, Idaho Conservation League, Idaho Wildlife Federation; and for 22 years as the Sierra Club’s conservation chair for eastern Washington and Idaho. John has served on the CELP Board since 2007. His current efforts include co-coordinating the Ethics & Treaty Project, which seeks to infuse principles of stewardship and justice into the re-negotiation of the Columbia River Treaty.

We are excited to have the opportunity to recognize John for the legendary environmental leader of the PNW he is. With a record of advocacy for the waters and forests of our region spanning more than three decades, he is the embodiment of the spirit of the Professor Ralph W. Johnson Water Hero Award.

Water Heroes
1. Rachel Paschal Osborn, Water Hero 2001
2. Benella Caminiti, Water Hero 2004
3. Nancy Rust, Water Hero 2006
4. Mickey Gendler, Water Hero 2008
5. Russ Busch, Water Hero 2010
6. Harriet Bullitt, Water Hero 2011
7. NW Indian Fisheries Commission, Water Hero 2012
8. Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Water Hero 2013
9. Ann Aagaard, Water Hero 2014
10. Upper Columbia United Tribes, Water Heroes 2015
11. Professor William H. Rodgers Jr., Water Hero 2016
12. Dr. John Osborn, Water Hero 2017
13. Water Heroes 2018
14. Larry Wasserman, Water Hero 2019
15. Professor Emeritus Robert Anderson, Water Hero 2020
16. Sharon Haensly, Water Hero 2021
17. Kimberly Ordon aka KO, Water Hero 2021
Back To Top