skip to Main Content

Harriet Bullitt, Water Hero 2011

Harriet—granddaughter of C.D. Stimson, owner of Seattle’s largest sawmill and a real estate tycoon whose Metropolitan Building Corp. helped reshape the city after the great fire of 1889—is a renowned philanthropist, conservationist, and savvy businesswoman. She is particularly well known for her strong commitment to protecting the PNW’s old-growth forests and rivers, and championing green urban growth by allocating tens of millions to environmental causes through the Bullitt Foundation.

In 1991 Harriet purchased 67 acres of land along Icicle Creek near Leavenworth, formerly a Civilian Conservation Corps camp that abutted her existing property, to build the Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort. Historical and environmental considerations saved all 18 of the original buildings for the new site plan. In 1994, the buildings were remodeled to meet or exceed current building and energy codes and new buildings were constructed to blend in with the original style. Sleeping Lady welcomed its first guests in August 1995 and in 2001 the American Institute of Architects recognized the resort as one of the top 10 green projects in the nation.

In 1998, Harriet then established the Icicle Fund, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to support six partner organizations focused on advancing the arts, protecting the environment, and promoting the natural and cultural history of the Wenatchee River watershed. The six lead partner organizations—Icicle Creek Center for the Arts, Chelan-Douglas Land Trust, Methow Arts Alliance, The Nature Conservancy, the Trust for Public Land, and the Wenatchee River Institute—hold the majority of seats on the Board of Directors and lead the work of the Fund. Since its founding, the Icicle Fund has expanded to support projects throughout North Central Washington, investing tens of millions in over 100 nonprofit organizations.

Water Heroes
1. Rachel Paschal Osborn, Water Hero 2001
2. Benella Caminiti, Water Hero 2004
3. Nancy Rust, Water Hero 2006
4. Mickey Gendler, Water Hero 2008
5. Russ Busch, Water Hero 2010
6. Harriet Bullitt, Water Hero 2011
7. NW Indian Fisheries Commission, Water Hero 2012
8. Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Water Hero 2013
9. Ann Aagaard, Water Hero 2014
10. Upper Columbia United Tribes, Water Heroes 2015
11. Professor William H. Rodgers Jr., Water Hero 2016
12. Dr. John Osborn, Water Hero 2017
13. Water Heroes 2018
14. Larry Wasserman, Water Hero 2019
15. Professor Emeritus Robert Anderson, Water Hero 2020
16. Sharon Haensly, Water Hero 2021
17. Kimberly Ordon aka KO, Water Hero 2021
Back To Top